Much Ado About Steven Fiske

Claudio, Hero, Benedick, Beatrice

Steven Fiske as Claudio with Hero (Emily Palmer), Benedick (Patrick Waller) and Beatrice (Evelyn O’Neal Brush) — Photo by Jeff Frazier

A sophomore at Vanderbilt University’s Blair School of Music, this marks Steven Fiske’s first year with us and we’re thrilled to have him both as a member of our Apprentice Company and on our summer stage! His buoyant personality is a joy on stage and we couldn’t imagine a better Claudio for our Much Ado About Nothing production.

For a more indepth chat with Steven about his role as Claudio, read InsideVandy’s interview.

Interview conducted by Marketing and Development Intern Blythe Cate. Emoticons and tildes are all Steven!

What is your favorite Shakespeare play?
~Why, Much Ado About Nothing, of course.

What would surprise me to know about you?
~I can’t roll my “r”s… YET!

Where do you find inspiration?
~Usually in the shower or in the car. Sometimes in the kitchen.

What does it take to be a great actor?
~When I figure it out, I’ll let you know. 😉

Who would you like to engage in conversation (living or dead)?
~Lucille Ball. Or Tchaikovsky. I’ll flip a coin.

What talent would you most like to have?
~I would love to be a really great dancer. I’ve been working on my moves, and hopefully I’m getting better.

Claudio and Hero

Steven and Emily Palmer (Hero) — Photo by Jeff Frazier

What is your favorite thing to do in Nashville?
~I think my favorite thing to do this summer (OBVIOUSLY besides Shakespeare in the Park) has been the swing dancing in Centennial Park on Saturday nights. What a great way to spend a summer evening!

What is your favorite line in Much Ado About Nothing?
~I like the line where Antonia calls me a milksop. The funny thing is that it sounds whacky enough to be a 40s expression. “Ooo, that gosh darn milksop! Applesauce!!”

How were you introduced to Shakespeare in the Park?
~I’d heard about it from a few people here and there, but I really looked into it last spring when I was searching for a summer training program for young artists. Little did I know I would find such a great opportunity right in my own back yard!

And most importantly: What is your favorite picnic food?
~Watermelon. Mmmmm.

Much Ado runs through September 16 at Centennial Park.

This entry was posted in Shakespeare in the Park and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Much Ado About Steven Fiske

  1. Mary Beth says:

    I believe you meant to say it was Steven Fiske’s “first” year, not his “fist” year. 🙂

    Wish I could see the performance. I know both Steven and Emily, and they are fabulous, funny, super-talented people! I am sad that I no longer live in Tennessee to see them in this performance.

Leave a Reply

